Author Topic: Crashes when driving to office  (Read 20469 times)

Offline lance_r

  • Wizard's Slave
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Crashes when driving to office
« on: November 02, 2012, 02:32:39 PM »
Game continually crashes when choosing to drive to office from the map after visiting the antique shop.  I restored from saved game (outside shop - last possible save point) multiple times, but still occurred.  Replayed game from start (saving at multiple points including outside shop again) and it still fails.  Uninstalled, then re installed game (I purchased from GameStop so it uses their client to do this) and played from save point outside of shop (I copied save points to a different folder, but they were restored after re-install).  Same issue.  Below is last bit of output_log (full log attached).  .sav attached as well.

Thank you.


Clicked on: FBIBostonHQ
 
(Filename: C:/BuildAgent/work/d9c061b1c154f5ae/Runtime/ExportGenerated/StandalonePlayer/UnityEngineDebug.cpp Line: 43)

Playing sequence General_Walking_Enable
 
(Filename: C:/BuildAgent/work/d9c061b1c154f5ae/Runtime/ExportGenerated/StandalonePlayer/UnityEngineDebug.cpp Line: 43)

Playing sequence Downtown_Boston_Map_ToFBI
 
(Filename: C:/BuildAgent/work/d9c061b1c154f5ae/Runtime/ExportGenerated/StandalonePlayer/UnityEngineDebug.cpp Line: 43)

Playing sequence WorldMap_CarSFX
 
(Filename: C:/BuildAgent/work/d9c061b1c154f5ae/Runtime/ExportGenerated/StandalonePlayer/UnityEngineDebug.cpp Line: 43)

Stopped sequence General_Walking_Enable
 
(Filename: C:/BuildAgent/work/d9c061b1c154f5ae/Runtime/ExportGenerated/StandalonePlayer/UnityEngineDebug.cpp Line: 43)

Stopped sequence Downtown_Boston_Map_ToFBI
 
(Filename: C:/BuildAgent/work/d9c061b1c154f5ae/Runtime/ExportGenerated/StandalonePlayer/UnityEngineDebug.cpp Line: 43)

Stopped sequence WorldMap_CarSFX
 
(Filename: C:/BuildAgent/work/d9c061b1c154f5ae/Runtime/ExportGenerated/StandalonePlayer/UnityEngineDebug.cpp Line: 43)

Level Ready
 
(Filename: C:/BuildAgent/work/d9c061b1c154f5ae/Runtime/ExportGenerated/StandalonePlayer/UnityEngineDebug.cpp Line: 43)

scene fully loaded
 
(Filename: C:/BuildAgent/work/d9c061b1c154f5ae/Runtime/ExportGenerated/StandalonePlayer/UnityEngineDebug.cpp Line: 43)

The class defined in script file named '' does not match the file name!
 
(Filename: C:/BuildAgent/work/d9c061b1c154f5ae/Runtime/Mono/MonoBehaviour.cpp Line: 1492)

The class defined in script file named '' does not match the file name!
 
(Filename: C:/BuildAgent/work/d9c061b1c154f5ae/Runtime/Mono/MonoBehaviour.cpp Line: 1492)

The class defined in script file named '' does not match the file name!
 
(Filename: C:/BuildAgent/work/d9c061b1c154f5ae/Runtime/Mono/MonoBehaviour.cpp Line: 1492)

The class defined in script file named '' does not match the file name!
 
(Filename: C:/BuildAgent/work/d9c061b1c154f5ae/Runtime/Mono/MonoBehaviour.cpp Line: 1492)

The class defined in script file named '' does not match the file name!
 
(Filename: C:/BuildAgent/work/d9c061b1c154f5ae/Runtime/Mono/MonoBehaviour.cpp Line: 1492)

A script behaviour has a different serialization layout when loading. (Read 24 bytes but expected 104 bytes)
Did you #ifdef UNITY_EDITOR a section of your serialized properties in any of your scripts?
 
(Filename: C:/BuildAgent/work/d9c061b1c154f5ae/Runtime/Serialize/SerializedFile.cpp Line: 1134)

The class defined in script file named '' does not match the file name!
 
(Filename: C:/BuildAgent/work/d9c061b1c154f5ae/Runtime/Mono/MonoBehaviour.cpp Line: 1492)

A script behaviour has a different serialization layout when loading. (Read 24 bytes but expected 40 bytes)
Did you #ifdef UNITY_EDITOR a section of your serialized properties in any of your scripts?
 
(Filename: C:/BuildAgent/work/d9c061b1c154f5ae/Runtime/Serialize/SerializedFile.cpp Line: 1134)

Unloading 3 Unused Serialized files (Serialized files now loaded: 0 / Dirty serialized files: 0)

Unloading 248 unused Assets to reduce memory usage. Loaded Objects now: 6767. Operation took 33.043846 ms.
Phoenix Script: Could not find scene object named 'HintBook_AddPage_FBI_Mainstation_12_Att achPhoneToComputer'
 
(Filename: C:/BuildAgent/work/d9c061b1c154f5ae/Runtime/ExportGenerated/StandalonePlayer/UnityEngineDebug.cpp Line: 43)


Offline wilco64256

  • Omnipotent Being
  • *********
  • Posts: 3978
  • Gender: Male
Re: Crashes when driving to office
« Reply #1 on: November 02, 2012, 02:39:28 PM »
Try visiting your video card manufacturer's website and updating video drivers or adjusting the game quality settings, see if that makes any difference.
Weldon Hathaway

Offline lance_r

  • Wizard's Slave
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Crashes when driving to office
« Reply #2 on: November 02, 2012, 06:28:26 PM »
Try visiting your video card manufacturer's website and updating video drivers or adjusting the game quality settings, see if that makes any difference.

Updated to the most recent drivers and changed to lower resolution and "good" (versus "fastest") settings.  Same thing.  I had no graphics issues prior to this.

Unless there's a .sav out there to bypass this, then I'm done.  I have the conversation with Rose memorized word-for-word at this point.  :-)

Offline wilco64256

  • Omnipotent Being
  • *********
  • Posts: 3978
  • Gender: Male
Re: Crashes when driving to office
« Reply #3 on: November 02, 2012, 07:15:56 PM »
Can you run DXDIAG on your computer, save the results, then copy and paste all of the information from the "Display" section here? I've had a couple of other people run into this same issue and I'm trying to figure out what the common thread is. To do that just go to Start>Run on your computer or press the Windows icon keyboard key + R and type DXDIAG in the box.

Also if you'd like to post your last save from the exterior of the antique shop as an attachment here I'd be happy to step the game forward to the FBI Station for you and give you a save there to load up. If it gives you any errors about posting that file just change the extension from .sav to .txt for me.

Here's where to find the saved games:

XP:

C:\Documents and Settings\(Username)\Local Settings\Application Data\Phoenix Online Studios\Cognition _ Episode 1

Vista/Win7:

C:\Users\(Username)\AppData\LocalLow\Phoenix Online Studios\Cognition _ Episode 1
Weldon Hathaway

Offline lance_r

  • Wizard's Slave
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Crashes when driving to office
« Reply #4 on: November 05, 2012, 02:26:28 PM »
Save file attached.



(Posted on: November 05, 2012, 05:22:46 PM)


Tried posting DxDiag.txt file as an attachment, but keep getting

"Not Acceptable

An appropriate representation of the requested resource /blog/forum/index.php could not be found on this server.

Additionally, a 404 Not Found error was encountered while trying to use an ErrorDocument to handle the request.."

Offline wilco64256

  • Omnipotent Being
  • *********
  • Posts: 3978
  • Gender: Male
Re: Crashes when driving to office
« Reply #5 on: November 05, 2012, 02:28:10 PM »
Go ahead and email that dxdiag result to me, just weldon@postudios dot com. Thanks.
Weldon Hathaway

Offline lance_r

  • Wizard's Slave
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Crashes when driving to office
« Reply #6 on: November 05, 2012, 02:32:50 PM »
I installed the game on a different computer (laptop with DirectX 9.0c and 1 gig video RAM (4gig system)).  It's running XP SP3 as well.  Game crashes at the same point.  I even dropped the resolution to 800x600 and "Simple" and the same crash occurs.  Are you sure that this is not either an XP issue or an issue with the GameStop/Reverb copy of your code?

Anyhoo...I would really appreciate a save game from after driving to the office.  Thank you.

(Posted on: November 05, 2012, 05:30:53 PM)


Go ahead and email that dxdiag result to me, just weldon@postudios dot com. Thanks.

Sent.  Thank you for your quick response to this issue.

Offline KatieHal

  • Designer, Public Relations Director
  • Administrator
  • Phoenix Groupie
  • *****
  • Posts: 6561
  • Gender: Female
  • Snark Advocate
    • Phoenix Online Studios
Re: Crashes when driving to office
« Reply #7 on: November 05, 2012, 08:20:27 PM »
I like that the title of this thread implies Erica may have crashed her car into the office :)

Katie Hallahan
~Designer, PR Director~

"Change is the constant, the signal for rebirth, the egg of the phoenix." Christina Baldwin

I have a blog!

Offline snabbott

  • Beta Tester
  • Global Moderator
  • Phoenix Groupie
  • *****
  • Posts: 5250
  • Gender: Male
  • Fairy tales do come true!
Re: Crashes when driving to office
« Reply #8 on: November 06, 2012, 11:21:15 AM »
 :rofl:

Steve Abbott | Beta Tester | The Silver Lining

Offline pandaposse

  • Wizard's Slave
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Crashes when driving to office
« Reply #9 on: November 06, 2012, 06:44:41 PM »
I am running into this same problem -- the game abruptly exits/crashes every time when driving to the office after visiting the antique shop.  I experienced some sporadic crashes prior to this, particularly during dialogue scenes, but the only one that is definitely consistent is the drive to the office.  I bought the game from GameStop and am running it on a WinXP machine.

Offline wilco64256

  • Omnipotent Being
  • *********
  • Posts: 3978
  • Gender: Male
Re: Crashes when driving to office
« Reply #10 on: November 06, 2012, 07:25:58 PM »
I am running into this same problem -- the game abruptly exits/crashes every time when driving to the office after visiting the antique shop.  I experienced some sporadic crashes prior to this, particularly during dialogue scenes, but the only one that is definitely consistent is the drive to the office.  I bought the game from GameStop and am running it on a WinXP machine.

Email me directly at weldon@postudios dot com with your Gamestop order number and I can get you taken care of.
Weldon Hathaway

Offline LackingAN

  • Wizard's Slave
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Crashes when driving to office
« Reply #11 on: November 25, 2012, 12:30:17 AM »
Hello, I'm having a similar issue.  After I leave the Antique Shop the game plays the audio of Erica getting ready for work.  After she says that she should go into the office the game never returns control to me.  Instead the cursor spins forever and clicking on the different locations doesn't do anything.

Any advice?  Thanks

Offline wilco64256

  • Omnipotent Being
  • *********
  • Posts: 3978
  • Gender: Male
Re: Crashes when driving to office
« Reply #12 on: November 25, 2012, 08:54:25 AM »
Hello, I'm having a similar issue.  After I leave the Antique Shop the game plays the audio of Erica getting ready for work.  After she says that she should go into the office the game never returns control to me.  Instead the cursor spins forever and clicking on the different locations doesn't do anything.

Any advice?  Thanks

Can you also toss me an email with your order number, let me know which site you purchased the game from and on what date?
Weldon Hathaway

Offline Kiseu

  • Wizard's Slave
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Crashes when driving to office
« Reply #13 on: December 08, 2012, 10:07:54 AM »
Found the Solution to this issue.First off If you are running on windows 7 follow the steps.
1.Go to the folder that has the application and right click on it .
2. Chose Compatibility
3. Chose to run the program in XP SP2 and check box run as admin
4. You Can now start the game and load right at the shop.
5. Once you get to the part were you are about to leave move the mouse to the left corner.
6. DO not click or move the mouse.
7. You should have a map show up for the first time then it will go to the alarm and shower sound and second map.
8. Now move the mouse and chose the destination.

Offline Goreman42

  • Wizard's Slave
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Crashes when driving to office
« Reply #14 on: December 21, 2012, 11:12:32 AM »
Same problem here, I'm stuck at this point and cannot continue :-\
Game purchased by raindg, an update please!

Offline wilco64256

  • Omnipotent Being
  • *********
  • Posts: 3978
  • Gender: Male
Re: Crashes when driving to office
« Reply #15 on: December 21, 2012, 12:19:49 PM »
Same problem here, I'm stuck at this point and cannot continue :-\
Game purchased by raindg, an update please!

Can you run DXDIAG on your computer, then save the result and send them to me either as an attachment to a reply here or just via email? You're the first person who's purchased the game from the Rain website who's reported this problem so I'd like to see if I can figure out what's causing it.
Weldon Hathaway

Offline Goreman42

  • Wizard's Slave
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Crashes when driving to office
« Reply #16 on: December 21, 2012, 02:26:54 PM »
I've mail it to you.

Offline LostViking

  • Wizard's Slave
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: Crashes when driving to office
« Reply #17 on: December 31, 2012, 05:30:41 AM »
Hey there,

I don't think that this bug is graphics (card) or Windows related, as I also experienced it in my Mac version downloaded from shop.cognitiongame.com. Changing graphics card settings in the startup settings didn't change anything and I played (or waited) through the dialog in the antiques shop a couple of times (almost knew the dialog lines by heart).  :-\

Luckily part of Kiseu's hints helped me getting past this bug. So ignore 7 of the 8 steps he mentioned and just stick to

6. DO not click or move the mouse.

In the last dialog option in the antiques shop just click your preferred option once and do not move the mouse or press a mouse button afterwards (not even try to skip the dialog lines). After the map has fully loaded you should have a regular mouse cursor instead of the waiting wheel of doom and should be able to select your destination on the map. :)

This helped me to get past this bug and be able to finish this great game.

Best,
Eric
« Last Edit: December 31, 2012, 06:31:45 AM by LostViking »

Offline Goreman42

  • Wizard's Slave
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Crashes when driving to office
« Reply #18 on: January 04, 2013, 05:20:24 AM »
If you could fix this bug it would be appreiate pos ::)

Offline wilco64256

  • Omnipotent Being
  • *********
  • Posts: 3978
  • Gender: Male
Re: Crashes when driving to office
« Reply #19 on: January 04, 2013, 09:39:59 AM »
If you could fix this bug it would be appreiate pos ::)

I had emailed you several times with some suggestions for getting past this point in the game. Did changing to a lower quality setting not work? I can't really do much in the way of patching the game to fix this as it's just the biggest scene in the game and for some reason your computer is running out of memory while loading it, which is why I suggest running it at a lower quality option as that will reduce the amount of memory scenes need to load.
Weldon Hathaway
 

anything